Wiping Data from a Working Drive

With new technology being introduced to the world every day, people are left with no other option but to sell their old devices to make place for new ones.

It’s not that the old devices become irrelevant all of a sudden, but eventually, people will lose interest in those old devices, which are equipped with old technologies. Then, they will have to get new products with cutting-edge technologies.

If you too are among those people and looking to sell your old computer because it is incapable of carrying out the tasks as per your requirements, then you can easily sell or donate it.

However, before you do that, you must ensure that your personal data is not stored on that computer because it can be used to harm you financially and/or socially. Therefore, you must only give your old computer after wiping all the data from the hard drive that is installed on the computer. Ask for assistance from us at Keystone Data Recovery so that you don’t make any critical mistakes.

Before you wipe the hard drive, make sure to keep all the data on another hard drive or cloud storage. Also, check if the files stored on the backup hard drive are working properly as sometimes, files when moved from one location to another become corrupt or inaccessible. If you have already backed up all the data and checked the working of files, then you can move ahead with wiping the hard drive.

What Type of Hard Drive Wipe Do You Want?

There are three types of options to choose from when it comes to wiping data from your working drive, so you will have to select the type of wipe you’re looking for:

Wipe the working drive clean of all data

If you opt for this option, then the OS will also be deleted along with the metadata and other important files that are present in the operating system. This option is suitable when you are looking to sell or donate your computer

Permanently wipe only the data files stored in the home directory

Choosing this option will make those files unrecoverable. This wiping of the hard drive is suitable when you are looking to pass the computer to a friend or a colleague who need the software programs that are installed on the computer in addition to the computer itself. This type of wipe is not recommended, as it doesn’t successfully wipe personal or confidential data from the hard drive.

Therefore, the right thing to do is permanently personal data from the hard drive. The process is different for Mac and Windows computers, and we will discuss both one by one.

Wiping data in Mac Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Computers

In Mac computers, the process of wiping hard drive is quite easy, as there is a secure erase feature built into its Disk Utility program. A person with limited knowledge can easily erase the data from the hard drive without taking help of a professional.

Option 1: Wipe a Macintosh hard drive

This can be done by booting from an external drive, which has an installed version of Mac OS, including a copy of Mac Disk Utility software. With the OS, you will not be able to boot it.

Option 2: Completely wiping the hard drive, including OS and data

To do this, start up the Mac from MacOS Recovery Partition. This is going to completely erase the hard drive. Then, you can install the latest version of MacOS through internet followed by choosing ‘Disk Utility’ from the list.

You will have to use ‘Disk Utility’ to erase the hard drive. In Mac computers, you even get the option of deciding the number of times you want to write over the erased data. That can be done by using ‘Security Options’.

Windows HDD Computers

If you are using a Windows computer that is running on Windows 7, then you will have to boot from CDs along with a 3rd-party erasure tool such as DBAN to completely wipe the hard drive.

As far as wiping a hard drive in Windows 8 is concerned, that can be done using the ‘Reset This PC with a Remove Everything’ option. By selecting ‘Fully Clean the Drive’ will wipe the hard drive.

In Windows 10 computers, you can use ‘Reset this PC’ feature, which will remove all the files that are stored on the hard drive by securely overwriting the data. There is ‘remove my files option’ as well, which will only delete the user data.

Please follow and like us: